A Salute to Our Soldiers of Yesterday and Today

Laying the wreath at Port of Pittsford Park

Laying the wreath at Port of Pittsford Park on Veteran's Day 2009

Before attending the Veteran’s Day ceremony at Port of Pittsford Park this morning, I stopped by Pittsford Cemetery to pay my respects to some of my Civil War boys.  It is difficult to believe that the Civil War came to an end 144 years ago.  So many things have changed in those years and yet some things remain the same.  We are still losing soldiers. Although most of them are lost on foreign soil, thirteen soldiers were killed at Fort Hood recently by one of their own.  America mourns these heroes just as she mourns the soldiers lost in Afghanistan and Iraq.

The Civil War was not our first war, nor was it destined to be our last.  Our great country has gone to war many times since the War of the Rebellion.  Spanish-American War.  The Great War.  World War II.  Korean War.  Vietnam War.  Gulf War.  War in Afghanistan.  War in Iraq.

Today I give thanks to those who currently serve, and those who have previously served, our country during wartime and during times of peace.

  • Thank you to my Civil War boys for helping to shape our country into what it has become today. 
  • Thank you to the veterans of World War II, many of whom I am privileged to know personally through American Legion Rayson-Miller Post 899. 
  • Thank you to the soldiers of the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Gulf War and the Wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
  • Thank you to my family members and friends who served –  my husband, U.S. Army during the Gulf War – my father, a paratrooper in the Vietnam years – my paternal grandfather, WWII Civilian Air Patrol – my maternal grandfather, WWII Army Corps of Engineers who served at the Battle of the Bulge – and my friend G. Jeff Hall, U.S. Airforce medic who served in Iraq during the Gulf War. 

My gratitude also extends to someone whom I have never met, my friend Karen’s cousin, Staff Sgt Nekl “Nick” B. Allen.  Nick was killed in Afghanistan in September 2009.  He served with the 2nd Battalion, 87th Infantry Regiment, 3rd Brigade Combat Team and was a Rochester, NY native.

We remember you today, and we thank you for your service.

Explore posts in the same categories: Civil War Soldiers, Monroe County NY, Pittsford Cemetery, Pittsford NY

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

