Cemetery Research, Part 2

I’ve just spent the last few days reviewing the information I gathered on my trip to the Pittsford Cemetery office this past Wednesday.  As I mentioned in my previous post, the amount and quality of information listed in burial records varies, but I can assure you that you will find at least one gold nugget contained within.

Despite the fact that most of my time since then has been spent transferring photos from my camera to my laptop, I could barely contain my excitement at the tidbits of trivia I couldn’t help glancing at while the transfer was occurring.  “Infant child buried with mother”.  “Sister of…”  “1st wife of…”  This information is more precious than gold to a genealogist.  Without these records, how long would it have taken me to discover that Elizabeth Plumb was a sister to Ann Dickens?  Or that Union Army veteran Henry Kunow had a wife before he married Sophia?  These records can also be used to verify information already collected.  I knew that my Civil War soldier, Jeffrey Birdsall, had a child who had died young.  The burial record not only confirmed the fact, but listed the child’s name (Augustus Cleveland) and age at death (8 months).

Pittsford Cemetery also keeps plot records.  The plot records are a valuable tool to solving mysteries.  My soldier, Charles A. Tillotson, is buried beside his mother Mary.  They both have nice sturdy headstones.  I always wondered about Mary’s husband Joseph.  Why wasn’t he buried beside his wife and son?  The answer is that Joseph IS buried beside them, to Mary’s right.  For some reason, Joseph’s death is not recorded in the burial record book, but he is clearly shown on the plot record.  And to make this discovery even more exciting, buried beside Charles are his brother, Horace, and an unnamed sister.  I can see already that an additional trip to the Pittsford Cemetery office is in order so that I may view more of these plot records.

My special thanks to Hazel Knickerbocker, the Pittsford Cemetery secretary, for graciously allowing me to spend time viewing the burial records and for her many kindnesses.

Explore posts in the same categories: Civil War, Civil War Soldiers, Monroe County NY, Pittsford Cemetery, Pittsford NY

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

