Civil War Soldiers of Pittsford, New York

Illuminated History: 

Restoring Faded Memories.

The purpose of this blog is to restore the vibrance of community memories forgotten and overshadowed by more famous Civil War stories.  It’s time to illuminate the common soldiers from our own backyards.

My name is Vicki Profitt, and for the past year I have researched the Civil War soldiers of Pittsford, New York.  My interest was piqued after taking a tour of Pittsford Cemetery in May, 2008.  Audrey Johnson, the Town Historian and tour guide, pointed out the grave of John H. Thurmon, the only Confederate buried in our Northern cemetery.  Having always been interested in the Civil War, I decided it would be a fun project to photograph and transcribe the graves of the Civil War soldiers at Pittsford Cemetery.  Little did I know that one year later I would have spent hundreds of hours and taken dozens of trips to the cemetery on this “little” project.

After completing the transcription of 75 gravestones, the lives of these men tugged at my heartstrings and I had to find out more about each of them.  These two had the same surname…were they brothers?  These others had different last names but were buried beside each other.  What connections did they have that have been lost to the many generations that have come since?  I had to find out.

That’s where my genealogical skills came in handy.  Using a variety of mostly online sources, I have been able to trace most of the men’s genealogies and locate their military records.  Dozens of their descendants have come forward to assist me in my quest and to them I am eternally grateful.

Explore posts in the same categories: Civil War, Civil War Soldiers, Monroe County NY, Pittsford NY

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Civil War Soldiers of Pittsford, New York”


  1. I love the historical information you are gathering – if I were a history teacher in the US I would love to collaborate with you, and have you share your knowledge with students.

    Please look at some of the ways I am teaching Canadian History – maybe it will give you some ideas.

    http://thinkinginmind.blogspot.com
    Neil

    • Vicki Profitt Says:

      Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog, Neil. My goal is actually to go into the classrooms in the school district and get the kids excited about the heroes in their own backyards. Right now, I am focusing on the tour, which I hope will be repeated again in the Fall. It depends on the interest levels.

      I went to your site and saw that you are new to blogging as well. It is pretty fascinating stuff, isn’t it? I think I can get used to this pretty quickly.


Leave a Reply

